Scholarships & Awards

Academic Excellence Class of 2019

The Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine awards scholarships and awards annually to veterinary medicine students based on a variety of criteria including academic achievement, financial need, clinical proficiency, leadership, achievement in specific disciplines and memorial awards.

Current veterinary medicine students are asked to complete an online application each year in order to be eligible for these scholarships.  The PPVM Scholarship Committee determines the recipients based on the criteria of each scholarship.  The scholarships awarded will be applied to the following academic year's tuition.

Scholarships and Awards

Anatomy Award -- certificate
For outstanding proficiency in the first-year anatomy course

Award for Academic Excellence -- certificate
Presented to first- and second-year student(s) in recognition of dedication and exceptional efforts in achieving the highest overall grade point average in their class

Willis and Dolores Armbrust Scholarship -- $1,000
Awarded to second-year students chosen for their achievement during the first two years at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and interest in large animal medicine and emphasis on bovine production

Willis Armbrust Memorial Dairy Veterinary Student Scholarship--amount varies
Based on achievement and interest in dairy medicine

Janet Beachler Scholarship -- amount varies
Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 with preference to Block and Bridle members

Coal, Topaz and Onyx Memorial Scholarships -- $500 each scholarship
Nebraska high school graduate and has an interest in companion animals

Earl O. Dickinson Veterinary Student Award of Merit -- $500 minimum
Awarded to a second-year student that has demonstrated honesty, dedication, dependability, congeniality and hard work; elected by the second-year student body

Alan R. Doster, DVM Veterinary Pathology Scholarship -- $500 minimum
In recognition of demonstrated achievement in veterinary pathology

Kurt and Sarah Gauger Scholarship -- amount varies
Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above; preference given to those with demonstrated financial need

Chad M. Johannes, DVM Scholarship -- $1,250
Established by Chad M. Johannes, DVM, DACVIM (SAIM, Oncology) to help support a student in the PPVM program who is interested in small animal internal medicine and/or oncology.  Dr. Johannes received his undergraduate degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (BS in Veterinary Science, 1993) and his DVM degree from Kansas State University (1997).  Dr. Johannes completed an internship in small animal medicine and surgery at Colorado State University (1998), a small animal internal medicine residency at the University of Missouri-Columbia (2002) and a residency in medical oncology at North Carolina State University (2013).  His industry experience includes former Medical Director at Aratana Therapeutics, Inc. and coordination of the launch of Palladia®, the first FDA-approved veterinary cancer therapeutic, during his time with Pfizer.  Dr. Johannes’s practice experience includes primary care, specialty care and academic settings.  He joined Iowa State University in July 2015 as Assistant Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine and Oncology.

Norman R. Schneider, DVM Memorial Scholarship -- amount varies
Decided by the first-year student body; presented to a first-year student in recognition of demonstrated honesty, dedication, dependability, congeniality and hard work

Student Leadership Award -- certificate
Determined by the student body, in recognition of outstanding leadership and services to the students in the Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Gary P. Rupp Beef Cattle Production Management Scholarship -- amount varies
Scholarship recipients have demonstrated an interest in beef animal production management


J.J. and Eleanor Ogle Fellowship -- $1,000 annually
Presented to first and second year students annually